Work Hard, Play Hard

I didn’t focus on school this weekend.

This weekend, I didn’t dedicate more than a couple of hours to homework, nor did I plan out how I will stay ahead of the game this upcoming week.

What I did do this weekend, however, is just as important: I allowed myself to enjoy the world around me. I caught up with a friend I hadn’t seen since October and I played tennis for the first time in a long time.  We watched several horror movies and ate ice cream.  We went to two different parks and I took my camera – there’s something so satisfying about capturing a peaceful day in a photograph.

Tomorrow, I will go back to school and study hard.  I’ll take notes in class and do my homework.  I’ll resume my weekly routine and try not to become overwhelmed with all that needs to be done.

College is a fun, exciting, and stressful experience.  I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to further my education.  I’m also thankful for weekends full of laughter and adventure. It’s so easy for students to get utterly consumed in school; we must make an effort to occasionally live in the outside world.  Don’t get me wrong – education is very important, but so is being involved in the stuff that’s happening around us.  I write this not to encourage my fellow students to slack off in their studies, but instead, I wish to encourage them to pursue the world.

Work hard, my friends, but allow yourself to play hard sometimes, too.

Leave a Reply

